The Best Teammate Award

The NBA has taken an unprecedented step in sports, deciding to create an award that will honor the league’s “ideal teammate.”

The Twyman-Stokes Award, named after Jack Twyman and Maurice Stokes, will recognize the best teammate in the NBA.

The award is voted on by NBA players, though they are not allowed to vote for members of their own team.

A pool of NBA Legends selected 12 nominees for the award, six from each conference.

The criteria consists of selfless play, on-and-off court leadership as a mentor and role model to other NBA players and the individual’s commitment and dedication to his team.

The list of finalists include Jerry Stackhouse (Brooklyn Nets), Luke Walton (Cleveland Cavaliers), Andre Iguodala (Denver Nuggets), Jarrett Jack (Golden State Warriors), Roy Hibbert (Indiana Pacers), Chauncey Billups (Los Angeles Clippers), Shane Battier (Miami Heat), Roger Mason, Jr. (New Orleans Hornets), Jason Kidd (New York Knicks), Serge Ibaka (Oklahoma City Thunder), Manu Ginobili (San Antonio Spurs), and Emeka Okafor (Washington Wizards).

The first ever Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award will be presented at American Airlines Arena, before Game 2 of the 2013 NBA Finals.

Next Cavaliers Game Full schedule »
Wednesday, Oct 2222 Oct7:00at Memphis GrizzliesBuy Tickets

Tags: Twyman-Stokes Award

comments powered by Disqus