Dwyane Wade Not Suspended For Game 3, Is It the Right Call?

May 22, 2013; Miami, FL, USA; Miami Heat shooting guard Dwyane Wade (3) drives to the basket as Indiana Pacers center Roy Hibbert (55) defends during the second half in game one of the Eastern Conference finals of the 2013 NBA Playoffs at American Airlines Arena. Miami wins in overtime 103-102. Mandatory Credit: Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

After delivering an elbow to the head of Lance Stephenson, Dwyane Wade will not face a suspension for game 3 of the Indiana Pacers vs Miami Heat series. In case you missed the story and the seemingly dirty play, you can watch it here.

According to Ira Winderman, Wade will not face any immediate punishment and will not be suspended. However, the play which was initially not even called as a foul, was upgraded to a flagrant 1 by the NBA. If he would end up getting four so-called “flagrant points” he would eventually face a suspension. A flagrant 1 is worth one point while a flagrant 2 is immediate ejection out of the game and two “flagrant points”. Wade now has one such point, but will not face any direct ramifications for the blow to the head many have found as an extremely dirty play.

Paul George of the Pacers was not happy with the play, calling it uncalled for, while Wade himself would not comment on it. Erik Spoelstra did comment on it though, saying that he did not feel the play warranted a suspension.

So there you have it. What do you think about this? Was it the right decision, or is Wade just getting special treatment because he is a star? Would another player be suspended for the same thing? Let us know in the comment section below.

@VytisLasaitis

Topics: Indiana Pacers, Miami Heat, NBA Playoffs

Want more from King James Gospel?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.